Winners of the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award announced

Patient Safety Monitor Insider

September 23, 2009

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum announced the 2009 winners of the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award Monday, recognizing five honorees. For the first time, the 2009 award contained an international category and the winner this year, Noreen Zafar, M.D., F.R.C.O.G, comes from Pakistan where she works to promote gynecological wellness in women. Other winners include: 

  • Gary S. Kaplan, MD, Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle, WA, for using the Toyota Production System model to put patients first
  • Tejal Gandhi, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA, for increasing awareness of patient safety issues in the outpatient setting
  • Michigan Health & Hospital Association (MHA) Keystone Center for Patient Safety & Quality – Lansing, MI, for implementing two successful programs that prevent central line-associated bloodstream infections and promote comprehensive unit based safety programs
  • Mercy Hospital Anderson – Cincinnati, OH, for implementing a modified early warning system which scores patients' vital signs

To read more about the winners, click here.